Latest News

Cignal TV, POC join hands for coverage for PH athletes leading to Paris 2024

Cignal TV and the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) are joining forces for the official launch of “Isang Daang Taon Laban Para sa Bayan: Celebrating 100 Years of Filipino Excellence in the Olympics,” which will kick off the country’s campaign for the 2024 Paris Olympics.

“Cignal TV has always believed in the skills and talent of the Filipino athlete and this partnership only reiterates our commitment to them. We want them to know that we’re with them every step of the way,” Cignal TV and MediaQuest President and CEO Jane Basas said during a press briefing at Cignal’s Launchpad Building headquarters in Mandaluyong City.

Cignal TV will chronicle the journey of Filipino athletes – from the buildup in their preparations and training, their respective campaigns, and the aftermath of their performance in the Olympics – which will be aired and featured on the various MediaQuest platforms, primarily on Cignal TV platforms including Free-to-Air and Pay TV, and on digital and social media through One Sports, One News, and News5.

“We’re honored to have Cignal TV be our gracious partner for the Paris-bound athletes and this early, we have high hopes of another memorable showing in the Olympics,” POC President Abraham ‘Bambol’ Tolentino said.

The Philippines will be marking its 100 years of participation in the quadrennial meet.

Runner David Nepomuceno was the first Filipino to qualify for the Olympics, participating in the 1924 Paris Games.

Those who have earned a direct qualification for the 2024 Paris Olympics are pole vaulter Ernest John “EJ” Obiena, boxers Eumir Felix Marcial, Nesthy Petecio and Aira Villegas, weightlifters Vanessa Sarno, Erleen Ann Ando and John Febuar Ceniza, and gymnasts Carlos Yulo and Aleah Finnegan.

Weightlifter Rosegie Ramos, according to Tolentino, is technically qualified in the women’s 49kgs class although she’s No. 11 in the world rankings after the Phuket World Cup, the final Olympic qualifying event.

The POC chief said swimmers Kyla Sanchez and Jarrod Hatch have qualified under the universality rule.

Hoping to qualify are Robyn Brown (athletics), Kurt Barbosa (taekwondo), Cris Nievarez and Joanie Delgaco (rowing), brothers Keisei and Shugen Nakano, and Yuta Watanabe (judo), Jericho Francisco (skateboarding), Patrick Coo (BMX cycling), Shagne Yaoyao (MTB cycling), Emma Malabuyo (gymnastics), Bianca Pagdanganan (golf) and boxers Carlo Paalam, Criz Laurente, Hergie Bacyadan and Rogen Ladon.

Cavite Governor Jonvic Remulla will serve as chef de mission of Team Philippines during the Paris Games scheduled from July 26 to August 11.


You May Also Like

Most Read